Start Your Own Library…

“Do your best to present yourself to God as one approved, a worker who has no need to be ashamed, rightly handling the word of truth.”
(2 Timothy 2:15, ESV)

“Now the Berean Jews were of more noble character than those in Thessalonica, for they received the message with great eagerness and examined the Scriptures every day to see if what Paul said was true.”
(Acts 17:11, TNIV)

I have this office in my basement. A library really. And, all of the books on the shelves have this little label in the bottom left-hand corner that say “From the Library of Kevin M. Fiske.”

It’s quirky, I know. But, I love books. I love theology. I love books about theology. Specifically, I love books that help me understand the ins-and-outs of the Bible all the more; that is, I love “Bible-saturated” books. In his book, The Knowledge of the Holy, A.W. Tozer said, “What comes into our minds when we think about God is the most important thing about us.” I find it extremely important, as any Christian should, to be able to think correctly about God. To see Him as He is.

God has blessed me with the opportunity to be formally trained at Moody and Wheaton, but the thing is, all the things I’ve learned…all the books I’ve read…all the theology I’ve been exposed to…it’s available to everybody.

People often ask me if there are any books they can read or study to help them understand their Bible more. Below is just a start, but these are links to some essential books on Amazon.com that can get you started in your journey to know God, though His Word, in a deeper and more satisfying way. And the best thing is, they’re totally readable by anybody!

THEOLOGY

OLD TESTAMENT (HEBREW BIBLE) STUDY

NEW TESTAMENT STUDY

For shorter reads, that are still thorough, check out this new series – Re:Lit by Resurgence and Mark Driscoll…these books are cheaper and can be read in a couple hours!

It’s important as Christians to have an understanding of our Bible…Who wrote it?…Why did they write it?…Where’d it come from?…What was going on in the world of the authors?…Is it really God’s Word?…Is it really authoritative over me?…Is it accurate?…These are just a few questions that every follower of Christ should be able to answer! Hope this gets you started!

Also, if you’ve already got a start on all this and you’re looking to study a specific topic a little more, I’d totally be happy to give you suggestions on where to look! Just ask 🙂

Leave a Reply

