The Calvin 500.

John CalvinAs I stated in an earlier post, 2009 marks the 500th anniversary of Calvin’s birth.  This historic marker has caused me to devote much of my personal study time this year to Calvin and his theology.  As a result of my studies thus far, I can say that this man was a theologian, uniquely gifted by God, with a heart that desired to be fully yeilded to Christ Jesus.  However, we do live in a day when both Calvin and his theology have been largely misrepresented; most often by people who have never taken the time to diligently study his work.  J.I. Packer is quoted as saying, “…the amount of misrepresentation to which Calvin’s theology has been subjected has been enough to prove his doctrine of total depravity several times over!”

Much of the caricaturing that has taken place has often left Calvin as someone who is only remembered for a small portion of his theology, and that, often misrepresented.

In light of this, I’m wondering what you think of Calvin/Calvinism/Reformed Theology.  What’s the first thing that comes into your mind when you hear the name “Calvin,” or the word “Reformed”?

Take the poll below, and/or leave a comment!

2 thoughts on “The Calvin 500.

  1. Hey Kev,

    I put other. My first thought is usually that Calvinism is not a hill I would die on (for the small amount I know about it), and after reading your post, him and his theology needs to be study for what it is. These are the first things that came to my mind.

    Peace,

    –Nick

Leave a Reply

