After conception, he never became…

Shortly after our son was born on December 18, 2011, I wrote the following words on a piece of paper at Central Dupage Hospital in Winfield, IL:

Gresham David Joseph Fiske

After applying my signature to the bottom of the page, that became his legal name.  However, at no point between the time that elapsed between the pictures below did my son go through a fundamental change where he became a human being.  The little boy in the second picture is the same human being in the first picture.  When I hold the little boy in the second picture, I am holding the same person pictured in the first image.  The little boy I rocked to sleep last night is the same person that existed at conception in the womb of my wife.  After the moment of conception, he never became

At 6 weeks…

At 6 months…

Leave a Reply

